The Basics Of Me and Where I am now in my Journey

I am a mother, grandmother, wife, friend, writer and soon to be college student.  Is my life busy?  Sure is.  Is my life hectic?  Pretty much.  Would I change a minute of it?  Never.

It has been an interesting road that has led me to where I am today.  I was born and raised in a small town in western New York state called Canisteo.  I grew up there and quite frankly never ever planned on leaving there.  I lived in a small town and I am one of those rare people that loved it.  I never wanted to leave.  I loved knowing everyone, always running into somebody I knew while out and about.

When I was almost 15 years old I met a guy in school.  He was two years older than me and asked me out on a date.  Strange, I know but at 15 I had never had a boyfriend.  My parents were pretty strict but I asked and they said I could go to the movies with him.  We dated for two years, through his joining the Navy and being away for months on end.  After those two years, I graduated high school, we were married and started our family.  Our daughter Kait was born in 1988.  Lew followed in 1991 and in 1992 Emily joined our family.  I wish I could say I was happy.  I wasn’t.  I loved my kids but the military changed my husband.  He became verbally abusive.  Eventually it got physical.  He down graded me so much I had NO self esteem at all.  I thought myself dumb, useless and would never be able to do anything with out him in my life.  He left for a time and moved back.  I found out he was cheating on me but we decided we would work it out “for the kids” (little did I know having him around was worse on the kids than having him there).  He wanted to move to Florida, the change would help our marriage he said.  I listened.

Things didn’t change for long.  I was isolated from my family in this state I didn’t like.  But, I finally found my self confidence.  I got a job.  I gained knowledge and I had had enough.  We split.  I began dating.  I met the man of my dreams.  Today he is my husband.

He treats me like a queen.  He respects me and he loves my children.  They are our children.  I love his children as mine too.  Since we have been together (eight years now) we have raised them together as our children.  That, in itself, has been a battle and journey.  His oldest daughter was 15 when we met.  She wasn’t ready for a step mom.   Her real mom basically abandoned them and their step mom of 9 years, the only “mom” they had ever known, walked out on the a couple years before I met their dad.  My step daughter made life difficult.  Today she loves me and I love her and her children very much.  Her brother is still coming around.  He is 20 and out on his own.

My own children have grown so much it doesn’t seem possible.  My oldest is living with her boyfriend and has a 8 month old son.  My son will start college next month.  We will start college together.  He is not thrilled with this as he is also still in high school (that will be tomorrow post) and my “baby” (she loves it when I call her that)  will be sixteen next month.  Time has flown by so quickly it is as if I only blinked and here I am.

Tomorrow (or later today) I shall post about what led me to going to college now, at the young age of 39.

I want to use this blog to look back on my life, the things that have led me to where I am now and to who I am now.  I want to explore where I am going and why I am headed that way.  I also want to be a resourse for other mothers that are non traditional students.  I am just learning the in’s and out’s of college.  I am clueless and so far I have not found a great site that says “first do this, then this and this”  I want to be able to do that for others.  As I learn, I want to share with other mom’s (or dad’s) that finally found the courage to take a step into the unknown.

Leave a Reply

